Only More Love | Fort Worth Lifestyle Photographer | Mama Post

I’m not normally quite this open, but sometimes you just need to pour out your heart and give your thoughts and feelings a space. The night before we go from three to four is one of those times. So, deep breath. Here goes. A letter to my first baby…

 

Things are changing little one. In a matter of just hours now, we’ll welcome a baby girl into our arms and our home. We’ve waited so long for her and we’re beyond excited to see who this new sweet soul will be!! But there are a few things I’d like you to know. First of all, we are confident you will be the world’s best big brother. We know you’ll love on her and teach her things and get into all sorts of shenanigans no doubt. We will probably laugh at the things you’ll come up with together and cry along with you both on the days that seem too long. Life will get busier, more complicated, and more beautiful than we can imagine right now. But a sister is a great blessing! We cannot wait to see you two together!!

My heart hurts sometimes thinking you might feel uneasy with the changes, or confused why you are not the only little in our home anymore. But I pray someday you’ll know…

That though our attention may be divided, our LOVE never will. It will only be multiplied exponentially. Our family will change and grow and we will be stretched in ways we never thought possible, but the way we feel for you will never change. Well, actually it will. We will love you all the more just the same as we love you more than the day we first met you. As for me? I’m sure glad I’ve had honest mama friends to talk to, because the emotions of adding another little have been much more than I anticipated. I’m so glad they’ve told me it was normal to feel a bit sad about you not being my only little anymore despite how badly we wanted to add to our family. Though there will be a new baby in the house, you will always be my boy. My sweet first babylove. I could never describe the place you hold in our hearts but the only thing that comes close would be this. When you came into our lives, as I’m sure most/all parents experience, you broke my heart in two. But not in a bad way. You broke my heart because before that day, there was no way the love for you would even have fit inside. It had to be stretched, and pulled, and broken so that more love could be shoved in. And then after that, it was never the same. My heart was, and always will be a bit exposed. Just bursting with this uncontrollable, ever growing love. When your baby sister comes, I will burst open again and things will never be the same. They’ll be even better. We will love on this little girl just as fiercely as we love you. But since that big, fierce, multiplied love is so intense, there will surely be growing pains for all of us. We will face the rough moments and revel in the joys of our new family together. I guess this is why mamas can be so crazy and emotional and unstable (at least I feel that way). I mean, they’re walking around with a heart that’s expanded well beyond their rib cages for goodness sake!  So just remember that you will always have a special place. And there will always be room for more because though you will have to share your toys and my attention, you’ll never have to share my love. Because you’ll each have your own place in my heart.

 

“I have found the paradox, that if you love until it hurts, there can be no more hurt, only more love.”

-Mother Teresa

img_4502ewmimg_4509ewmimg_4783ewmimg_4837ewmimg_5198ewmimg_5266ewmimg_5292ewmimg_5038ewmimg_3844ewmimg_3786ewmimg_3884ewm

 

Leave a Reply

